Flight QF25 and my first 24 hours in Tokyo

Airports are a lot funner when you’re not alone. And I was most definitely reminded of that on Saturday night.

However feelings of loneliness were soon defeated by the satisfaction of buying $2 water from the duty free store. HA!

The flight was relatively enjoyable … if that’s possible? With service adequate but not overdone and surprisingly good food. I actually ate my entire meal. Seriously. I’m really not kidding. If anyone is flying Qantas soon, don’t despair the food is edible. And all mains come with a side of garlic bread. Yes you read right. Garlic bread. Thank you airline gods for bestowing this magical gift upon us mere mortals.

And with about four hours sleep I arrived in Tokyo, both excited and a little bit nervous on tackling the overwhelming subway system with minimal sleep.

But before that I paid a visit to the ladies restrooms and OMMGGG Japanese toilets are the best. Two highlights included the soothing music that played whilst you were in the cubicle AND that the toilet thanked me as I left. Fabulous.

The subway wasn’t so bad – although i am thankful that i arrived on a Sunday rather than a Monday. Having said that however further trips throughout the day ensured somewhat tricky. Two take away tips:

  1. Always know your exit – or you will end up in Narnia. On a serious note.. taking the right exit will ensure you arrive at your destination … without having to walk an extra 10kms and not have a nervous breakdown about being lost in a new city
  2. Transfers aren’t always simple – Japan’s rail system are owned by a number of private and public parties meaning that switching from one to another isn’t always simple. All i can say is follow the signs and know your direction. Otherwise you might find yourself spending hours in one station

I arrived to a rainy morning i Tokyo but that was not hinderance to begin to explore the day.

First stop was the Government Metropolitan Building. Where both the North and South tower have observatories open to the public – give you a birds eye view of the city below. Unfortunately the rain caused a lot of cloud cover during my visit, but it’s definitely worth a visit. I might even go back.

Tokyo Metropolitan Government Office

Tokyo Metropolitan Government Office

Tokyo Metropolitan Government Office

Tokyo Metropolitan Government Office

Tokyo Metropolitan Government Office

Tokyo Metropolitan Government Office

Second stop was Shinjinku Park. A nice escape from the bustling freeway and sidewalks across the road.

Shinjinku Park

Shinjinku Park

Next stop was Shinjinku itself. I was too tired to really venture here.. but now have my bearings ready to go for when I’m ready to truly explore.

From here I took the cheap skate option and decided to walk to the Meiji-Jingu Shrine. Whenever my boyfriend and I travel we always walk places because we don’t want to pay the subway fare and yesterday i kept that tradition going.

Meiji-Jingo Shrine was pretty spectacular – and the walk itself was beautiful too. I would definitely recommend this in your top 5 things to do in Tokyo.

Meiji_Jing Shrine

Meiji_Jing Shrine

Meiji_Jing Shrine

Meiji_Jing Shrine

Meiji_Jing Shrine

Meiji_Jing Shrine

Meiji_Jing Shrine

Meiji_Jing Shrine

And then I bolstered myself to tackle Harijuku. Although by that point I think I was so tired that I just went with it. And boy was it busy. Like Shinkinku this was just a taster.

Harajuku

Harajuku

Frequenting Shibuya for some Ramen for dinner was followed by an early night. And now I am getting ready to visit Mt Fuji.

Until next time.

x

Leave a Reply

