Korean family road trip

One of the main reasons I chose to come to Seoul from Japan was to visit the city of one of my friends from university, Sarah. I met Sarah during my first year of university, when we were placed in the same university housing unit.

I don’t remember exactly what we bonded over but it was probably something to do with all things cute and Korean tv drama. Oh and the time I introduced her to tequila at one of my parties. Oops.

On my first full day in Seoul I was picked up by her family at 6:50am sharp to head off to Sokchosi. Saturday was the start of a festival to worship the local fish so it was expected to be busy.

While Sarah’s parents did not speak English (proficiently) both Sarah and her younger sister did and so the day consisted of a lot of back and forth and plenty of nonverbal communication.

I did not expect Saturday road trips to be so popular. Oh was I wrong. Dotted along the highways were pit stops that put the Bushells “Stop. Revive. Survive” stops to shame. From coffee to fried squid and even a full Korean meal. You could buy just about anything here. It was one of those… I just don’t even know moments.

Followong our roadside pit stop we also drove up one of the famous mountains along the way, somewhere near Gangwon. It was beautiful. But so cold. Apparently it’s popular place for hiking, during the summer that is.

Third stop of the day was at the Shiheugsa Temple. If you’re heading up north I would recommend a stop here. While some elements of the temple burned down, it has now been rebuilt and stands on its former glory. I’ll let the photos speak for themselves, but at only $3.00 it’s worth a visit.

After nearly four hours in the car our final stop was Sokchosi. And it was time for lunch. I was being treated to a full 5 course Korean sashimi meal and my God was it something else. The photo below was just the first course of appetisers. If you’re in Sokchsi try some of the seafood – it’s worth the price!image

 

 

 

After visiting the fish festival, fish market and a stop at the beach it was time to head back to Seoul. A 3.5hr road trip awaited, us and just about every other family in Seoul.

image

image

Enter a caption

All in all it was a great day and I feel privileged to have had the chance to be part of a Korean family for the day. So kind and generous!

Until next time…

x

One comment

  1. faithbradytravel · November 26, 2015

    That’s the most impressive set of appetizers I’ve ever seen! 😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

